Cleaning Up – Cont’d (Interior) 

Immediately following after getting the exterior the way I was content with for the time being, I finally began to give the interior some attention.

I really wish I had taken the time to get a much comprehensive picture than this of how the interior looked when I first got the car. This is the only thing I can find in a screen cap from a video, and from what you can see – there’s no radio present, and the material from the shift knob was starting to deteriorate. One thing I’m very happy about though is the fact that it has a crackless dash. S13’s are prone for cracked dashes due to to sun damage, and having one that doesn’t look like the San Andreas Fault is a major plus.

Not long after, I started gathering some new interior pieces to fill up the empty look the inside of my car was having. I went with a Kenwood single din radio and OEM Nissan center pocket to start because driving around with no music can be very uninspiring sometimes haha. I then went ahead and got some grey/black checkerboard floor mats made by Garage Moon Power. It really flows with the true 90’s japan style and that’s probably one of my favorite parts of my interior. I also ended up replacing the stock shift knob with a 90mm Tomei. I was a bit skeptical on it due to it being such a light weight material, but I was actually pretty impressed at how comfortable it handles through gears.

I was anxious for a quick release steering wheel setup, but I wanted a wheel that was really great quality and wouldn’t bend on me taking a hairpin turn. After long research on sizing and what material to go with, I landed on a Leather 330mm Personal Grinta with yellow stitching. If you didn’t know by now, Personal is a sister brand of Nardi which are all made in Italy – beautifully hand made wheels. I was bouncing back and forth with going for either a 330mm or 350mm and was kind of scared it was going to be too small for an all around good position in my hands – but luckily it was very spot on.

 

When I mounted up the steering wheel and took it for a quick drive around town, I noticed a much tighter feel around turns. The wheel definitely changed the way of how the car drives and I’m more than glad I chose this setup.

 

As of now October 25, 2017 – this is how the interior looks. I have a little surprise in addition to the interior for a much functional look and I can’t wait to have it settled in as it will play an important role for track days.

Have a good day everyone! – Chris

Author: chrisxstyle

Many years ago I’ve grown a considerably passionate love for the automotive world, sophomore year of high school to be exact - where I would spend countless hours researching on these machines that from one person’s standpoint is just a mule that takes you from Point A to Point B, or as what I’ve saw through my eyes - a way of expression to one self. One of these cars that I’ve been so fascinated over is something I’ve dreamed of owning at some time in my life. This car that introduced me to style and freedom of expression within the automotive world is now finally my 1991 Nissan 240SX Fastback. For quite some time I’ve thought about creating a place where I can personally keep a timeline of the progression with my car but also share and give an inside look of my project with others, and I’m excited to allow who ever is viewing to see this journey of mine unfold. Thank you and enjoy the trials and errors, blood sweat and gears, and as with any project car, frustration and maximum joy along the way!

One thought on “Cleaning Up – Cont’d (Interior) ”

Leave a comment